Shetland Guide Book
Mainland - South from Lerwick
Photos of Shetland Mainland


The Mainland of Shetland runs from Sumburgh Head in the south to Fethaland in the north. The main town is Lerwick on the east side, with its sheltered harbour, while the ancient capital of Scalloway is nearby on the west side.

It can be conveniently divided into South (Cunningsburgh to Sumburgh), Central (Tingwall, Nesting, Lunnasting, Delting), West (Walls, Sandness, Aithsthing) and North (Delting and Northmavine).

Photography - Photo Library - Postcards - Calendars - Guide Books

Western Isles - Orkney - Shetland - Caithness